The Security Illusion

I’ve hesitated to write this specific blog, because it’s about something I know to be true but am still working on believing is true.

A couple weeks ago I was chatting with an acquaintance on campus who asked me what I was doing after graduation. Because I was only in line for some food, I didn’t feel the need to go into great detail about life plans but simply said I hoped to work in Africa.

Her eyebrows immediately went up. “Oh, be careful. It’s dangerous there.”

I smiled politely and moved on.

Recently, I have been praying that I could get into my mind and my heart the truth that no place is really “safe.” Certainly some places may have more inherent risks than others, but security is never a sure thing.

And I wonder if sometimes -or even often times- Jesus calls us to take calculated risks. Not being stupid, but just following Him to those hard-to-get-to places where He as the shepherd is leading.

“But how can they call on him to save them unless they believe in him? And how can they believe in him if they have never heard about him? And how can they hear him unless someone tells them?” -Romans 10:14

-33 days

One Response to The Security Illusion

  1. jm says:

    even me. how could we even THINK about doing such things without the truth of what we know about God and his leading and his protection.

Leave a Reply

